Individual Kindness (Thoughts Post-Election)

Last night was momentous. Today? It was as if I had woken up in the wrong place and the wrong time after a huge mistake or a bad dream. And all the distress, horror, and disappointment washed over me.

I cannot completely understand how and why, but to Trump’s supporters, congratulations. You got what you wanted. But me? I am afraid, terribly, terribly afraid–and I know that others’ fears are even greater than mine. Jokes aside, we have a man whose power is based on the installation of hate and fear in what should be a nation of unity in diversity becoming our president. We have a man who expresses racism, misogyny, white supremacy, xenophobia, Islamophobia, and all other forms of bigotry frequently, blatantly, and actively. And if this is who America has elected, maybe we are not as progressive as I had thought and hoped.

But this reflection of the States does not and should not be a reflection of who you are. One man, or two hundred, can never truly represent you. Please remember that the purpose of our government is to preserve our individual rights. Please remember that we ourselves must treat and love others with care and decency and preserve our individual kindness. It is all we have left.

To my fellow vulnerable Americans, please stay safe.

Be upset, be angry, do not let anyone invalidate how you feel.

Be there for each other. In a country in such a divided state, we must stick together.

Be compassionate. Hold your loved ones close for as long as possible and offer lots of hugs and love. We need that.

Be passionate. The fight is not over.

Be hopeful. The sun will rise and we will try again, even if it feels like we are living during an eclipse. We are the future, and we will slowly achieve the peace, love, and tolerance that we can only dream of at the moment.

Belong. I know you do, and you know you do. Do not let the bigots take away your sense of being.

And, finally, be kind. Please, please do not forget to be kind.

2 thoughts on “Individual Kindness (Thoughts Post-Election)

  1. Danny Dang says:

    Your thoughts are too emotional and moral driven without any rational thought or consideration of statistics. You fail to understand that policies in politics are what caused Trump to win, not because Americans are all racist scums of the earth. Truth is, Trump isn’t a fascist and he probably won’t do anything that will tear our country down as you imagine. If I’m wrong in the next 4 years, smack me. If anything, Trump winning just stalled our war with Russia since he has connections with Putin. Trump isn’t the greatest character however he is better than Hillary. There is a reason why Hillary lost. It is not because of Americans being sexist or racist, etc. It is because of how corrupt of a person she is. Why do you think she stayed with Bill after he cheated on her? It was clearly for political gain and power. I find it funny how I ask Hillary supports what Benghazi is or what why were the lost emails important and no one can give me an answer. They just point fingers at the “racist” Trump because the media portrays him that way. Ever wonder why the media targets Trump? Well, Clinton stuff money into these media outlets such as CNN so they would demonize Trump to make Hillary look better. Don’t believe me? WikiLeaks is a thing.

    I think your last few words are the most important words to live by and it saddens me that not everyone practices it.
    Be Kind.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. catherineadao says:

      Hi Danny, I see where you are coming from. Hillary is definitely a questionable figure. Since Election Night, I’ve been having long talks with others who introduced different points of views and ideas, even one suggesting that Trump’s attitude was overemphasized to pull in voters. And this has altered my opinion. Trump isn’t entirely terrible, I’ll admit, and he does have some good ideas, but I still see him as a bad man for what he has said and done. I am a great believer in social tolerance and am more upset at the people than him, not because they voted for him but because they have not been kind. Promoted bigotry, genuine or not, has affected the minds of some of the people. Americans are definitely not bad people entirely, but there also definitely are some bad apples. I can only hope that Trump can now influence Americans in a positive way and really stick to his promise to make America great(er). Thank you for your opinion, I truly appreciate it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

